Skip navigation

MAKE THE CALL! CANCEL RENT!

No one should be forced out of their because of Covid 19 shelter in place rules.  No one should be evicted because they cannot pay for three months of rent  on top of the new rent that's due. We can  make that a reality both by organizing together and taking action! This Zapp to CANCEL RENT is  as simple  as a call/email with the demand that the City councils and Humboldt board of supervisors cancel mandatory rent pay backs for the months shelter in place is in effect. Not being able to pay double or triple rent is no reason to be evicted. The calls and emails will go from Monday 6/8  10 am until they cancel rent.

It is easy to be powerful when we act together! We have a script  and contacts for you to call and COPY PASTE for an email.

BASIC PHONE SCRIPT (EVERYWHERE BUT EUREKA)
Hi my name is __________ and I live in [name of town / area]. I’m calling because the current eviction
moratorium, as it stands, is not enough. Making renters pay a HUGE lump sum on an arbitrary date is
going to be impossible for so many people.
Banks have been bailed out. Landlords have the option to make mortgage payments years from now.
But somehow renters are still expected to come up with funds out of thin air. Why have you left the
poorest among us with terrible options, but the system bends over backwards for those who own
property? And now the county is getting sued by real estate interests in a bogus lawsuit to pressure the
County Supervisors into rolling over on behalf of large property holders.
Humboldt has enough unhoused people. Don’t put us out on the street.
We need to CANCEL RENT.. meaning NO EVICTIONS for nonpayment even after the 90 days. Landlords
and tenants can negotiate about getting caught up, but NO EVICTIONS going forward due to Covidrelated nonpayment.
Thank you.

EUREKA SCRIPT (PHONE OR EMAIL)
Hi my name is __________ and I live in Eureka. I’m [calling or writing] because the current eviction
moratorium, as it stands, is not enough. Making renters pay a HUGE lump sum on an arbitrary date is
going to be impossible for so many people.
Banks have been bailed out. Landlords have the option to make mortgage payments years from now.
But somehow renters are still expected to come up with funds out of thin air. Why have you left the
poorest among us with terrible options, but the system bends over backwards for those who own
property?
Eureka city Council members ran on a progressive platform, but you’ve been largely absent in advocating
for Eureka tenants. It’s profoundly disappointing. You go to bat for the police, you use the city’s coffers
to defend against lawsuits, but for some reason it’s controversial for Council members to stand with the
city’s renters. Why did we even vote for you?
Humboldt has enough unhoused people. Don’t put us out on the street.
We need to CANCEL RENT.. meaning NO EVICTIONS for nonpayment even after the 90 days. Landlords
and tenants can negotiate about getting caught up, but NO EVICTIONS going forward due to Covid 19 related nonpayment.
Thank you.

HUMBOLDT COUNTY SUPERVISORS

Rex Bohn, County Supervisor, 1st District
(Ferndale, Honeydew, Loleta, Scotia, etc.)
Ph: 707-476-2391
rbohn@co.humboldt.ca.us

Estelle Fennell, County Supervisor, 2nd District
(Fortuna, Garberville, Redway, Rio Dell, etc.)
Ph: 707-476-2392
efennell@co.humboldt.ca.us

Mike Wilson, County Supervisor, 3rd District
(Arcata, Blue Lake, Freshwater, Manila, etc.)
Ph: 707-476-2393
mike.wilson@co.humboldt.ca.us

Virginia Bass, County Supervisor, 4th District
(Eureka, Fairhaven, Samoa, etc.)
Ph: 707-476-2394
vbass@co.humboldt.ca.us

Steve Madrone, County Supervisor, 5th District
(Fieldbrook, Hoopa, McKinleyville, Trinidad, etc.)
Ph: 707-476-2395
smadrone@co.humboldt.ca.us

ARCATA CITY COUNCIL

Michael Winkler, Arcata Mayor
Ph: 707-822-1857
mwinkler@cityofarcata.org

Paul Pitino, Arcata Vice-Mayor
Ph: 707-822-2556
ppitino@cityofarcata.org

Sofia Pereira, City Councilmember
Ph: 707-633-8015
spereira@cityofarcata.org

Brett Watson, City Councilmember
Ph: 707-822-5953
bwatson@cityofarcata.org

EUREKA CITY COUNCIL

Leslie Castellano, City Councilmember, 1st Ward
Ph: (707) 441-4169
lcastellano@ci.eureka.ca.gov

Heidi Messner, City Councilmember, 2nd Ward
Ph: (707) 441-4168
hmessner@ci.eureka.ca.gov

Natalie Arroyo, City Councilmember, 3rd Ward
Ph: (707) 441-4171
narroyo@ci.eureka.ca.gov

Austin Allison, City Councilmember, 4th Ward
Ph: (707) 441-4167
aallison@ci.eureka.ca.gov

Kim Bergel, City Councilmember, 5th Ward
Ph: (707) 441-4170
kbergel@ci.eureka.ca.gov